Another journey

I have been away, taking a trip with Eurostar across to Belgium and then Holland & Germany. It was only for 3 days and some of it felt like a pilgrimage because I was returning to places that have meant a lot to me in the past and it felt as if I was coming home. Visiting Aachen cathedral again was wonderful, beautiful gold mosaic ceilings which I tried to capture with photos but sadly, they came out a bit blurry.

I have been to Maastricht in Holland twice before and the last time I was there, one late Autumn day in 1996 I vowed that I would be back again in the Spring. Well, it took me another 15 years but I got there in the end and it was worth it, a lovely place to visit, people are so kind and friendly and I will definitely return again soon.

Now I’m busy planning for my next trip to France. So much packing and also I have to work out which art supplies to take with me. There are quite a few things there already but as usual, I want everything!Aachen Dom ceiling It’s always the same, whenever I start something in France the stuff I need is usually back at home. I will have to learn to improvise, but I still need to plan. Getting the balance right is so hard.

Leave a Reply

